Planning what to grow on the allotment

I know I won’t really be able to start growing anything on the allotment for a few months yet but I’ve started thinking about what I might grow.

I’m trying to choose veg which are:

  • Things we like to eat
  • Things that are hard to find in the shops
  • A few choices which are easy to grow and will result in lots of veg
  • Some things I’ve grown before

The list so far is:

  • Runner beans (easy to grow, should give lots of beans)
  • Beetroot
  • Kale (apparently very hardy)
  • Garlic
  • Nasturtiums (for colour, and can be added to salads)
  • Broad beans (because I bought some Aquadulce Claudia seeds, which are meant to be so hardy they can be planted in November for an early harvest)
  • Chillis (grew some indoors this year with moderate success)
  • Broccoli
  • Rainbow chard (pretty)
  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Asparagus (because there’s some already on the plot)

I’ve also started doing some little plans of what might go where in the plot:

Allotment plan

Do you have any suggestions for things I should try to grow?

6 thoughts on “Planning what to grow on the allotment

    • Yes I definitely want to attract bees and butterflies so that’s a good point. There’s an area at the end of the plot where I could have more flowers as well as the nasturtiums etc mingled in with the veg. Sweetcorn and strawberries are great suggestion too, thanks – I like eating both of these and I guess strawberries don’t need a lot of room?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I grew salad leaves, rocket and spinach for summer salads, they’re pretty quick and it was nice to have something to eat that I grew and tasted much better than shop bought. You do have to get a salad spinner though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Making an allotment plan using Excel | Emma's Allotment

Leave a Reply

