Signs of life

img_0878

It’s been snowy and rainy here for the last few days so I haven’t been to the plot for nearly two weeks – the longest I’ve left it since we started.

We’ve also had really strong winds so I was a bit anxious to visit today and see if anything had been blown around. The perimeter fence had blown down (it was on its last legs anyway so not a disaster), someone had dumped an empty builders’ sack over the fence (which is actually quite handy for covering the incinerator with – thank you fly tippers of North Tyneside) but the big news of the day was that the broad beans have sprouted! I planted them on 1 December despite being advised that they wouldn’t grow over winter this far north. They’re the Claudia Aquadulce variety which is meant be very hardy and so far the sprinklings of snow and frost clearly haven’t bothered them.

There’s no sign yet of the daffodil or crocus bulbs, or the garlic, so I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for them.

Let’s see if the beans survive to spring.

2 thoughts on “Signs of life

  1. You can always sow more broad beans in the spring if they don’t survive. I visit the plot every few days if I can at this time of year but the ground is either frozen or soggy so I only have a quick look round. I’m sure that the crocus and daffodils will appear soon. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I’ll probably sow more beans either way as I find them diffcult to find in the shops so want to make sure we have lots of them. Am planning another visit to the plot this weekend – hoping for another bonfire 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

