Checking up on my garlic and broad beans

It suddenly feels like Spring is nearly here this weekend, and obviously that means more time at the allotment – yay!

I dragged my slightly unwilling allotment helper along and we got loads more done than I would have done on my own. I think he enjoyed his first allotment bonfire experience too.

img_0960

I was keen to check up on my garlic and broad beans. The beans and most of the garlic were planted before Christmas, with a few more garlic cloves (Provence Wight) planted in January. The ones planted later are pretty much the same size as those planted earlier. I’ve never grown garlic before so I don’t have anything to compare it to but I think they’re looking pretty good.

The broad beans (Aquadulce Claudia) are doing ok as well, except for one which I think must have been eaten by slugs, hence the protective layer of straw that’s now around them, hopefully protecting them from any further slug-attack.

Now it’s warmer there are more and more plot holders appearing and I’ll have to get used to not having the whole place to myself any more. The plus side is that we met a lovely man today who was really encouraging about the transformation in our plot since we took it on in November which was a nice reminder that we have got loads done in our first three months as allotmenteers.

Leave a Reply

